hostsavvy.blogg.se

Wd my book 3tb usb 3.0 hard drive
Wd my book 3tb usb 3.0 hard drive





wd my book 3tb usb 3.0 hard drive
  1. #WD MY BOOK 3TB USB 3.0 HARD DRIVE INSTALL#
  2. #WD MY BOOK 3TB USB 3.0 HARD DRIVE PC#

This type of BIOS uses a Master Boot Record (MBR).

#WD MY BOOK 3TB USB 3.0 HARD DRIVE PC#

Most legacy systems built before 2011 have a traditional PC BIOS.

#WD MY BOOK 3TB USB 3.0 HARD DRIVE INSTALL#

You say WD drives above 2 TB’s need this GPT stuff… what about other brands? There has to be some that do not, there are tutorials all over the net where people install Linux on the 3 or even 4 TB external USB drives…Įr… So… your telling me i need to get my money back for this drive and buy another thats not WD - which one do you suggest ?Įdit, Scratch that last statement… I just found out it’s a limitation of the Legacy Bios MBR itself. ( i saw the OS was installed under GPT in Mini Tools Partition wizard from win 8 and wondered about it) I was wondering what that GPT garbage was… LOL… I just tried to install Zorin again without my internal drive being installed… this time it did install grub and it seemed that the install finished properly asking me to reboot to use it -but my system still would not read the drive of course… now i know… cus of this GPT garbage. Of all i can think of… option 3 a jumper setting seems most likely, but i want input from those who has had this problem. Is it a setting I am missing (doubtful) - Is it a limitation of the USB interface WD is using? - Is it because of a Jumper Setting on the mechanical drive that needs to be moved to another position? It just don’t seem to want to do it with the USB mechanical drive. My PC is USB bootable - in other words, i can install that Zorin OS to my 30 gig USB Flash stick and the PC will boot into the OS from start up normally. Now, to me, this is silly becuse it’s just a normal mechanical hard drive like all other mechanical hard drives - only being fed through a USB 3.0 interface. I also tried to install a live version of the distro via Unetbootin and Unetbootin cannot see the drive at all - even after re-formatting Fat 32. I had set up a 100 gigabyte partition formatted to EXT 4 for this purpose. It installs well enough untill it tried to install grub at the end of the instalation - it cannot ever install Grub as if it’s not finding the MBR area on the drive. I have tried to install Zorin 7.1 (Linux) to the drive from a live ISO. System Manufacturer/Model Number - HP Pavillion G7-2251dx The rest of the free space I’ll use for backup storage - at least thats the plan, if i can make this drive seen as a bootable device. It works fine as passive storage device but I want to use it also for installing one or more Linux operating systems and running them (one at a time via dual boot) on separate partitions made for each OS.

wd my book 3tb usb 3.0 hard drive

( WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0 Hard Drive with Security, Local and Cloud Backup (WDBFJK0030HBK-NESN) ))







Wd my book 3tb usb 3.0 hard drive